Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Mar 16, 2018 22:16:41 GMT
Hi guys, i've been tinkering with this gem and i am having a little problem, im currently feeding the skills to the animator and using it to update a "character sheet" UI, but i think this is not optimal, the skills dont get updated right away. My question is could someone recommend me a better way to do this? thanks what shadex said (hahaha) yeah that is an odd way of doing it, in playmaker just access the character attributes via the character instance class on the player, unless you need the stats to alter the animator behavior i would disable them for efficiency. do you realise that the attributes are linked to the UI already, press the inventory (i) in the demo scenes and see the extra menu of "character", it shows the full character attributes and allows spending skill points, might be easier to customize that screen depending upon your needs
|
|
lhide
Junior vMember
Posts: 25
|
Post by lhide on Mar 17, 2018 6:49:28 GMT
Thanks Shadex and insomnia, i dont see this kind of efficient and fast support from paid assets, you guys rock!
|
|
lhide
Junior vMember
Posts: 25
|
Post by lhide on Mar 17, 2018 6:55:59 GMT
Hi guys, i've been tinkering with this gem and i am having a little problem, im currently feeding the skills to the animator and using it to update a "character sheet" UI, but i think this is not optimal, the skills dont get updated right away. My question is could someone recommend me a better way to do this? thanks what shadex said (hahaha) yeah that is an odd way of doing it, in playmaker just access the character attributes via the character instance class on the player, unless you need the stats to alter the animator behavior i would disable them for efficiency. do you realise that the attributes are linked to the UI already, press the inventory (i) in the demo scenes and see the extra menu of "character", it shows the full character attributes and allows spending skill points, might be easier to customize that screen depending upon your needs The thing is that i had already made a inventory and character UI prior to choosing invector or even shades spell system(i was using opsive's system but i find invector's the best one) so im trying to integrate both things, but now that you pointed me towards the inventory ill just study and use the same logic in my UI. Thanks again guys!
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Mar 20, 2018 0:27:03 GMT
The thing is that i had already made a inventory and character UI prior to choosing invector or even shades spell system(i was using opsive's system but i find invector's the best one) so im trying to integrate both things, but now that you pointed me towards the inventory ill just study and use the same logic in my UI. Thanks again guys! CharacterDisplay.cs is the class you want to use as a reference point, Do also note that their is a reason why the leveling system consists of two classes, CharacterBase/CharacterInstance. The idea is that you can clone the character instance class (as all other classes refer to its base class), and set your own defaults (eg Knight class has +5 Strength) and alter the calculations for damage mitigation etc Then if i alter the character instance class, your cloned class is unaffected.
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Mar 22, 2018 3:13:25 GMT
I have one other big problem in v2.0g, but because there is no error in the log - I'm not sure how to fix. Spells don't show up in quickslots so I can't cast anything. Here's a screenshot where you can see quickslots are empty but filled inside equipments screen. i have found a second potential cause to that issue, due to using source control, the files you downloaded from github were read-only, unset this file attribute to resolve this issue. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- right ok guys, due to the mass of namespace changes in the latest invector release, i have had to move forward the planned release date for the spell system 2.1. IMPORTANT ONLY INSTALL TOGETHER WITH THE LATEST INVECTOR MELEE OR SHOOTER.Version 2.1 brings in a new component which automates setting up the relevant animator states on a new controller and validates an existing controller for missing states, spells. Load the spell system showcase scene and inspect the spell book, add your controllers and your inventory and you will see all the spells extracted. Expand a spell with the >> arrows and change the settings, these are now using a custom editor that is also shown on the animator states (rather than the previous raw array). Update the animation, spawned prefabs, hand effects, same as before. Then press “Validate Controller(s)” and the updated settings are applied to all the linked animators in one step, this is centralised control. Note that on the controller behaviours a new script will be applied “SpellBookAttack” rather than “MagicAttackBehavior” so no existing spells will be affected. Whilst we were very happy with the way spells could be easily setup on a controller, in our shared game prototype project we found that multiple enemies would often end up needing separate controllers and we needed a way to sync the spell settings between them, which once you get close to 100 spells and 30 different creatures became a problem. The spell settings are unchanged though are arranged in a slightly different order and the notes regarding setup in the getting started pdf still apply. To try it out, add some spells into your invector inventory, click the spell book prefab in project view, add a duplicated invector melee or shooter animator controller, add the inventory, set the spell settings and press validate. This will also add the animator parameters and spawn animation state. Download from github.com/ShadesOfInsomnia/SpellSystem see the readme on the front of the github page for install instructions.
|
|
|
Post by Invector on Mar 22, 2018 13:47:56 GMT
Great usage of our custom editor skin, this look great with your custom icons and all!
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Mar 22, 2018 17:28:38 GMT
Great usage of our custom editor skin, this look great with your custom icons and all! the icons are pulled from the inventory items, the cool part was sharing the same settings class complete with a shared custom editor between the spell book and the spell book attack classes on the animator and yeah i like the skin alot, all the spell system classes use it. one request, anyways, can make the text white (or near white) in the skin? which i am assuming is what you get if you have the pro version of unity, which many don't.
|
|
|
Post by shadex on Mar 23, 2018 4:26:20 GMT
Great usage of our custom editor skin, this look great with your custom icons and all! the icons are pulled from the inventory items, the cool part was sharing the same settings class complete with a shared custom editor between the spell book and the spell book attack classes on the animator and yeah i like the skin alot, all the spell system classes use it. one request, anyways, can make the text white (or near white) in the skin? which i am assuming is what you get if you have the pro version of unity, which many don't. Yea that would make life so much easier. A lot of the time the skin loads with darker colors and it becomes impossible to read.
|
|
|
Post by shadex on Mar 29, 2018 17:18:46 GMT
Ok, so if anyone is having this error
Assets/Invector-3rdPersonController/Add-ons/ShadesSpellSystem/Scripts/Editor/SpellBookBaseEditor.cs(13,27): error CS0101: The namespace `Shadex' already contains a definition for `SpellBookBaseEditor'
That has been solved by insomnia. He spent all night battling 17th level bugs, and on a mount of bug corpses he sang
To fix this, Delete your scripts folder and get latest version.
- Shades of insomnia
|
|
|
Post by mallen5421 on Mar 29, 2018 17:57:53 GMT
Thank you very much for this! You guys are all over this stuff! Great service!
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Mar 29, 2018 23:56:44 GMT
He spent all night battling 17th level bugs, and on a mount of bug corpses he sang Thank you very much for this! You guys are all over this stuff! Great service! the spell system is used as a primary component of our core game project, so will kept in line with the current unity and invector versions, we like new toys basically. Where possible we will add in new features that are relevant. Keep it real Shades of Insomnia
|
|
|
Post by shadex on Mar 30, 2018 2:49:11 GMT
He spent all night battling 17th level bugs, and on a mount of bug corpses he sang Thank you very much for this! You guys are all over this stuff! Great service! the spell system is used as a primary component of our core game project, so will kept in line with the current unity and invector versions, we like new toys basically. Where possible we will add in new features that are relevant. Keep it real Shades of Insomnia HAhaha i just shot coffee through my nose onto my keyboard!
|
|
red
New vMember
Posts: 18
|
Post by red on Apr 2, 2018 11:41:02 GMT
|
|
red
New vMember
Posts: 18
|
Post by red on Apr 2, 2018 20:18:59 GMT
I have one other big problem in v2.0g, but because there is no error in the log - I'm not sure how to fix. Spells don't show up in quickslots so I can't cast anything. Here's a screenshot where you can see quickslots are empty but filled inside equipments screen. i have found a second potential cause to that issue, due to using source control, the files you downloaded from github were read-only, unset this file attribute to resolve this issue. I'm again having this problem with empty spell quickslots. I don't know what's causing it this time. Also, when I kill a NPC in the lobby scene I get this error: MissingReferenceException: The object of type 'MagicAISpriteHealth' has been destroyed but you are still trying to access it. Your script should either check if it is null or you should not destroy the object. Shadex.MagicAISpriteHealth.UpdateHUDListener (Shadex.CharacterBase LevelingSystem, Shadex.CharacterUpdated Stats) (at Assets/Invector-3rdPersonController/Add-ons/ShadesSpellSystem/Scripts/MagicAISpriteHealth.cs:75) Shadex.CharacterBase.ForceUpdateHUD () (at Assets/Invector-3rdPersonController/Add-ons/ShadesSpellSystem/Scripts/CharacterBase.cs:372) Shadex.CharacterBase.PerSecondOperations () (at Assets/Invector-3rdPersonController/Add-ons/ShadesSpellSystem/Scripts/CharacterBase.cs:784)
|
|
|
Post by darknubis365 on Apr 4, 2018 5:51:00 GMT
This is happening to me as well but im getting a different error. ArgumentException:Mesh can not have more than 65k vertices UnityEngine.UI.VertexHelper.FillMesh(unityengine.mesh mesh)(at C:/buildslave/unity/build/extensions/guisystem/unityengine.UI/UI/Core/utility.... from the looks of this it looks like another problem but same thing happening from above for me as well spells not showing and i cant cast either
|
|